close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Register 31 Seats Remaining

Cover to Cover Book Discussion Group

2021-01-20 12:00:00 2021-01-20 13:00:00 America/Chicago Cover to Cover Book Discussion Group Join us virtually to discuss Spike Carlsen's new nonfiction book, "A Walk Around the Block: Stoplight Secrets, Mischievous Squirrels... & Other Stuff You See Every Day (And Know Nothing About)" Virtual Branch

Wednesday, January 20
12:00pm - 1:00pm

Add to Calendar 2021-01-20 12:00:00 2021-01-20 13:00:00 America/Chicago Cover to Cover Book Discussion Group Join us virtually to discuss Spike Carlsen's new nonfiction book, "A Walk Around the Block: Stoplight Secrets, Mischievous Squirrels... & Other Stuff You See Every Day (And Know Nothing About)" Virtual Branch

Join us virtually to discuss Spike Carlsen's new nonfiction book, "A Walk Around the Block: Stoplight Secrets, Mischievous Squirrels... & Other Stuff You See Every Day (And Know Nothing About)"

About this month's title:

In this celebration of the seemingly mundane, Carlsen opens our eyes to the engineering marvels, human stories, and natural wonders right outside our front door. He guides us through the surprising allure of sewers, the intricacies of power plants, the extraordinary path of an everyday letter... all the while revealing that this awesome world isn’t just a spectator sport. Engaging as it is endearing, A Walk Around the Block will change the way you see things in your everyday life. Join Carlsen as he strolls through the trash museum of New York City, explores the quirky world of squirrels, pigeons, and roadkill, and shows us how understanding stoplights, bike lanes, and fine art of walking can add years to our lives. In the end, he brings a sense of wonder into your average walk around the block, wherever you are. 

A limited number of physical copies of the selected title are available in advance at the Belt Branch for check out. 

This program is for adults 18+. Discussion will be held virtually via Zoom. Advance registration required; meeting details will be e-mailed the day before the program.

TAGS: | Book Talks |

Virtual Branch

virtualrooms@rhcl.org
Phone: 816-205-7000
Fax: 816-236-2133
Branch manager
Michelle Mears

Hours
Mon, Jan 18 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Tue, Jan 19 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Wed, Jan 20 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Thu, Jan 21 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Fri, Jan 22 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Sat, Jan 23 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Sun, Jan 24 12:00AM to 11:45PM

About the branch

Our Virtual Branch allows us to schedule events that are online only.  This includes Facebook videos, YouTube, and Zoom.

 

Upcoming events

Mon, Jan 18, 11:00am - 11:15am
Virtual Branch

Tue, Jan 19, 9:00am - 11:00am
Bookmobile

Wed, Jan 20, 11:00am - 11:20am
Virtual Branch

Wed, Jan 20, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Virtual Branch

Mon, Jan 25, 11:00am - 11:15am
Virtual Branch

Mon, Jan 25, 6:00pm - 6:15pm
Virtual Branch

Tue, Jan 26, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Virtual Branch - Virtual Meeting Room 1

Wed, Jan 27, 11:00am - 11:20am
Virtual Branch

Wed, Jan 27, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual Branch - Virtual Meeting Room 1

Sat, Jan 30, 10:00am - 11:00am
Virtual Branch

Mon, Feb 01, 11:00am - 11:15am
Virtual Branch

Tue, Feb 02, 9:00am - 11:00am
Bookmobile

Sat, Feb 06, 10:30am - 11:30am
Virtual Branch - Virtual Meeting Room 1

Mon, Feb 08, 11:00am - 11:15am
Virtual Branch

Mon, Feb 15, 11:00am - 11:15am
Virtual Branch

Tue, Feb 16, 9:00am - 11:00am
Bookmobile

Wed, Feb 17, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Virtual Branch