close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: True Justice: Film and Discussion

True Justice: Film and Discussion

2022-02-19 14:00:00 2022-02-19 16:30:00 America/Chicago True Justice: Film and Discussion Join us to view the award-winning film True Justice: Bryan Stevenson's Fight for Equality, then stay to discuss. Learn about the Equal Justice Initiative and local efforts, in this program for adults. Belt Branch

Saturday, February 19
2:00pm - 4:30pm

Add to Calendar 2022-02-19 14:00:00 2022-02-19 16:30:00 America/Chicago True Justice: Film and Discussion Join us to view the award-winning film True Justice: Bryan Stevenson's Fight for Equality, then stay to discuss. Learn about the Equal Justice Initiative and local efforts, in this program for adults. Belt Branch

Belt Branch

Upper Story (Large Venue)

Join us to view the award-winning film True Justice: Bryan Stevenson's Fight for Equality, then stay to discuss. Learn about the Equal Justice Initiative and local efforts, in this program for adults.

True Justice: Bryan Stevenson’s Fight for Equality follows 30 years of EJI’s work on behalf of the poor, the incarcerated, and the condemned. The film won the Emmy Award for Outstanding Social Issue Documentary, and a Peabody Award. Told primarily in his own words, True Justice shares Bryan Stevenson’s experience with a criminal justice system that “treats you better if you’re rich and guilty than if you’re poor and innocent.” (eji.orgStevenson is a widely acclaimed public interest lawyer and the founder and Executive Director of EJI. His best-selling book Just Mercy is the basis for the movie of the same name, starring Michael B. Jordan and Jamie Foxx.

This Rolling Hills Library program is offered in cooperation with the Black Archives Museum of St. Joseph and the Equal Justice Initiative (based in Montgomery, AL), and will include a brief update about local efforts for the Lloyd Warner Community Remembrance Project.

Masks are not required but are recommended for attendees.  

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Movie |

TAGS: | justice system | Bryan Stevenson |

Belt Branch

kmorris@rhcl.org
Phone: 816-232-5479
Branch manager
Kelly Morris

Hours
Mon, Aug 08 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Aug 09 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Aug 10 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Aug 11 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Aug 12 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Sat, Aug 13 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Sun, Aug 14 12:00PM to 6:00PM

About the branch

Belt Branch was expanded and renovated in 2006 and occupies a unique space in a commercial strip-mall building on the busiest thoroughfare in town.  It is open 7 days a week and offers over 30 programs per month. You can also schedule a one-on-one technology appointment or apply to get a passport.

Upcoming events

Sat, Aug 13, 9:00am - 11:00am
Bookmobile

Sat, Aug 13, 9:30am - 11:30am
Belt Branch - Upper Story (Large Venue)

Mon, Aug 15, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Belt Branch - Storyhouse Room

Mon, Aug 15, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Bookmobile

Tue, Aug 16, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Belt Branch - CreateSpace

Wed, Aug 17, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Bookmobile

Thu, Aug 18, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Belt Branch - CreateSpace

Sat, Aug 20, 10:30am - 1:00pm
Bookmobile

Sat, Aug 20, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Belt Branch - Upper Story (Large Venue)

Tue, Aug 23, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Administration - Meeting Room 1908 (Admin Level)

Wed, Aug 24, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Savannah Branch - Meeting Room

Mon, Aug 29, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Belt Branch - Storyhouse Room

Canceled
Mon, Aug 29, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Belt Branch

Thu, Sep 01, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Belt Branch - CreateSpace

Tue, Sep 06, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Belt Branch - CreateSpace
Registration opens Tuesday, August 23 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Sep 07, 11:00am - 11:30am
Belt Branch - Storyhouse Room

Wed, Sep 07, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Bookmobile

Wed, Sep 07, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Belt Branch - Community Room

Thu, Sep 08, 10:00am - 11:00am
Belt Branch - Storyhouse Room

Thu, Sep 08, 10:00am - 11:00am
Savannah Branch - Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 08, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Belt Branch - Storyhouse Room

Thu, Sep 08, 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Savannah Branch - Meeting Room

Sat, Sep 10, 11:00am - 11:30am
Belt Branch - Storyhouse Room

Mon, Sep 12, 11:00am - 11:30am
Belt Branch - Storyhouse Room

Mon, Sep 12, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Savannah Branch - Meeting Room
Registration opens Monday, August 29 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Sep 12, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Belt Branch - Books Revisited