Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Book Group

Book Group

The Boys in the Boat

2024-06-18 18:30:00 2024-06-18 19:30:00 America/Chicago Book Group Join us to discuss the 2013 book "The Boys in the Boat" by Daniel Brown. Belt Branch - CreateSpace

Tuesday, June 18
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2024-06-18 18:30:00 2024-06-18 19:30:00 America/Chicago Book Group Join us to discuss the 2013 book "The Boys in the Boat" by Daniel Brown. Belt Branch - CreateSpace

Belt Branch

CreateSpace

Join us to discuss the 2013 book "The Boys in the Boat" by Daniel Brown.

About this month's title:

The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph in Nazi Germany--from the author of Facing the Mountain.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys' own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man's personal quest.

A limited number of physical copies of the selected title are available in advance at the Belt Branch for check out.

This program is for adults 18+. 

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Book Talks |

TAGS: | Book Discussion |

Belt Branch

kmorris@rhcl.org
Phone: 816-232-5479
Branch manager
Kelly Morris

Hours
Mon, Jul 22 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jul 23 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jul 24 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jul 25 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jul 26 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Sat, Jul 27 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Sun, Jul 28 12:00PM to 6:00PM

About the branch

Belt Branch was expanded and renovated in 2006 and occupies a unique space in a commercial strip-mall building on the busiest thoroughfare in town.  It is open 7 days a week and offers over 30 programs per month. You can also schedule a one-on-one technology appointment or apply to get a passport.

Upcoming events