close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Register 20 Seats Remaining

Cover to Cover Book Discussion Group

2021-05-19 12:00:00 2021-05-19 13:00:00 America/Chicago Cover to Cover Book Discussion Group Join us virtually to discuss "The Book of Unknown Americans" by Cristina Enriquez. Virtual Branch

Wednesday, May 19
12:00pm - 1:00pm

Add to Calendar 2021-05-19 12:00:00 2021-05-19 13:00:00 America/Chicago Cover to Cover Book Discussion Group Join us virtually to discuss "The Book of Unknown Americans" by Cristina Enriquez. Virtual Branch

Join us virtually to discuss "The Book of Unknown Americans" by Cristina Enriquez.

About this month's title:

Arturo and Alma Rivera have lived their whole lives in Mexico. One day, their beautiful fifteen-year-old daughter, Maribel, sustains a terrible injury, one that casts doubt on whether she'll ever be the same. And so, leaving all they have behind, the Riveras come to America with a single dream: that in this country of great opportunity and resources, Maribel can get better.
When Mayor Toro, whose family is from Panama, sees Maribel in a Dollar Tree store, it is love at first sight. It's also the beginning of a friendship between the Rivera and Toro families, whose web of guilt and love and responsibility is at this novel's core.

A limited number of physical copies of the selected title are available in advance at the Belt Branch for check out.

This program is for adults 18+. Discussion will be held virtually via Zoom. Advance registration required; meeting details will be e-mailed the day before the program.

AGE GROUP: | Seniors | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Book Talks |

TAGS: | Book Discussion |

Virtual Branch

virtualrooms@rhcl.org
Phone: 816-205-7000
Fax: 816-236-2133
Branch manager
Michelle Mears

Hours
Mon, May 03 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Tue, May 04 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Wed, May 05 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Thu, May 06 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Fri, May 07 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Sat, May 08 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Sun, May 09 12:00AM to 11:45PM

About the branch

Our Virtual Branch allows us to schedule events that are online only.  This includes Facebook videos, YouTube, and Zoom.

 

Upcoming events

Mon, May 10, All day
Virtual Branch

Tue, May 11, 9:00am - 11:00am
Bookmobile

Wed, May 12, 12:30pm - 2:30pm
Bookmobile

Thu, May 13, 4:00pm - 4:15pm
Virtual Branch

Sat, May 15, 11:00am - 1:00pm
Bookmobile

Wed, May 19, 8:00am - 2:00pm
Bookmobile

Wed, May 19, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Virtual Branch

Thu, May 20, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Bookmobile

Mon, May 24, 6:00pm - 6:15pm
Virtual Branch

Tue, May 25, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Administration - Board Room (Admin Office)

Tue, May 25, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Virtual Branch

Wed, May 26, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Bookmobile

Wed, May 26, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Virtual Branch

Fri, May 28, 8:00am - 12:30pm
Bookmobile

Tue, Jun 01, All day
Virtual Branch

Tue, Jun 01, 9:00am - 7:00pm
Savannah Branch

Wed, Jun 02, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Bookmobile

Thu, Jun 03, 10:00am - 11:00am
Savannah Branch
Registration opens Monday, May 10 2021 at 9:00am

Thu, Jun 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Belt Branch - CreateSpace

Thu, Jun 03, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Off-Site
Registration opens Thursday, May 20 2021 at 9:00am

Fri, Jun 04, 8:00am - 12:30pm
Bookmobile

Mon, Jun 07, 10:00am - 10:25am
Belt Branch - Storyhouse Room
Registration opens Monday, May 24 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Belt Branch - Upper Story (Large Venue)
Registration opens Monday, May 24 2021 at 9:00am

Mon, Jun 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Bookmobile

Mon, Jun 07, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Bookmobile

Mon, Jun 07, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Savannah Branch - Meeting Room
Registration opens Monday, May 24 2021 at 9:00am