close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Cover to Cover Book Discussion Group

2020-09-16 12:00:00 2020-09-16 13:00:00 America/Chicago Cover to Cover Book Discussion Group Virtual Branch

Wednesday, September 16
12:00pm - 1:00pm

Add to Calendar 2020-09-16 12:00:00 2020-09-16 13:00:00 America/Chicago Cover to Cover Book Discussion Group Join us virtually to discuss award-winning "An American Marriage" by Tayari Jones. Virtual Branch

Join us virtually to discuss award-winning "An American Marriage" by Tayari Jones.

About this month's title:

Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could have imagined. Roy is arrested and sentenced to twelve years for a crime Celestial knows he didn’t commit. Though fiercely independent, Celestial finds herself bereft and unmoored, taking comfort in Andre, her childhood friend, and best man at their wedding....This stirring love story is a profoundly insightful look into the hearts and minds of three people who are at once bound and separated by forces beyond their control. An American Marriage is a masterpiece of storytelling, an intimate look deep into the souls of people who must reckon with the past while moving forward—with hope and pain—into the future.

A limited number of physical copies of the selected title will be available in advance at the Belt Branch for check out. This selection is also available digitally on the library's Overdrive. Axis360, and RBdigital apps.

This program is for adults 18+. Discussion will be held virtually via Zoom. Advance registration required; meeting details will be e-mailed the day before the program.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Book Talks |

TAGS: | |

Virtual Branch

virtualrooms@rhcl.org
Phone: 816-205-7000
Fax: 816-236-2133
Branch Manager
Michelle Mears

Hours
Mon, Sep 21 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Tue, Sep 22 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Wed, Sep 23 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Thu, Sep 24 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Fri, Sep 25 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Sat, Sep 26 12:00AM to 11:45PM
Sun, Sep 27 12:00AM to 11:45PM

About the library

Our Virtual Branch is now live!  This lets us indicate when programs are scheduled online, and also sets up a "place" where we can schedule Virtual Meeting Rooms.

Upcoming events

Thu, Sep 24, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Mon, Sep 28, 11:00am - 11:15am

Mon, Sep 28, 6:00pm - 6:30pm

Tue, Sep 29, 11:00am - 11:15am

Wed, Sep 30, 11:00am - 11:15am

Mon, Oct 05, 11:00am - 11:15am

Tue, Oct 06, 11:00am - 11:15am

Tue, Oct 06, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Oct 07, 11:00am - 11:15am

Mon, Oct 12, 11:00am - 11:15am

Tue, Oct 13, 11:00am - 11:15am

Tue, Oct 13, 3:00pm - 3:30pm

Wed, Oct 14, 11:00am - 11:15am

Thu, Oct 15, 6:00pm - 7:30pm