close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Accessible Browsing Hour

2019-10-12 08:00:00 2019-10-12 09:00:00 America/Chicago Accessible Browsing Hour Belt Branch

Saturday, October 12
8:00am - 9:00am

Add to Calendar 2019-10-12 08:00:00 2019-10-12 09:00:00 America/Chicago Accessible Browsing Hour This library event is open to sensory sensitive individuals and their families in order to allow them to feel free to be themselves, enjoy a calmer and quieter library. Belt Branch

This library event is open to sensory sensitive individuals and their families in order to allow them to feel free to be themselves, enjoy a calmer and quieter library.

The stereotype of a library is that of a quiet place where people can concentrate on their reading and work. In reality, libraries can be busy, noisy places that can be upsetting to some people.

On Saturday, September 14, the Belt Branch will open early from 8-9 a.m. for youths and adults who are on the autism spectrum or have sensory issues. Known as an Accessible Browsing Hour, the time will provide a quieter setting without a crowd.

The hour also will provide caregivers and families a chance to use the library without worrying about how their special needs members might be viewed by others if they act out in surprising manners or make unexpected noises.

AGE GROUP: | Family-All Ages |

EVENT TYPE: | Community |

TAGS: | |

Belt Branch

kmorris@rhcl.org
Phone: 816-232-5479
Branch Manager
Kelly Morris

Hours
Mon, Jan 20 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jan 21 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jan 22 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jan 23 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jan 24 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Sat, Jan 25 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Sun, Jan 26 12:00PM to 6:00PM

About the library

Belt Branch was expanded and renovated in 2006 and occupies a unique space in a commercial strip-mall building on the busiest thoroughfare in town.  It is open 7 days a week and offers over 30 programs per month. You can also schedule a one-on-one technology appointment or apply to get a passport.

Upcoming events

Thu, Jan 23, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storyhouse Room

Thu, Jan 23, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
CreateSpace

Sat, Jan 25, 10:00am - 11:00am
Community Room

Sun, Jan 26, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
CreateSpace

Mon, Jan 27, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storyhouse Room

Mon, Jan 27, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Jan 28, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storyhouse Room

Tue, Jan 28, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Community Room

Wed, Jan 29, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storyhouse Room

Wed, Jan 29, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Thu, Jan 30, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
CreateSpace

Mon, Feb 03, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storyhouse Room

Tue, Feb 04, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storyhouse Room

Wed, Feb 05, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storyhouse Room

Wed, Feb 05, 4:30pm - 5:15pm
Storyhouse Room

Wed, Feb 05, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Thu, Feb 06, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Feb 06, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
CreateSpace

Sat, Feb 08, 8:00am - 9:00am

Sat, Feb 08, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storyhouse Room

Sun, Feb 09, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
CreateSpace

Mon, Feb 10, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storyhouse Room

Mon, Feb 10, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Community Room

Tue, Feb 11, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storyhouse Room

Tue, Feb 11, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
CreateSpace

Wed, Feb 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storyhouse Room

Wed, Feb 12, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Thu, Feb 13, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
CreateSpace