Rolling Hills Consolidated Library

Library Updates

Adult Karaoke Night!

Posted by Tena on

Why let the kids have all the musical fun this summer? Come beat the heat and have some karaoke fun at the Belt Branch on Monday July 16 at 6:30pm at this lighthearted, nonjudgmental karaoke session.  There will be rounds of Karaoke Jeopardy, Dare You Not to Sing, Name That Tune, and of course, plenty of karaoke songs and all time favorite sing-along songs.

 

Woman Holding Black Microphone

 

 

 

 

No comments

Genealogy Programs in July

Posted by Tena on

On Thursday, July 12, 2018,  staff from Midwest Genealogy Center in Independence, MO, the largest free-standing public genealogy facility in the nation, will be presenting two unique genealogy programs at the Belt Branch.   No registration required–all are welcome to join us for one or both programs!

 

Dating Old Photographs (a Classy Seniors program)
   Community Room
   3pm
Wondering about those old photographs you’ve got? Clues in the photo can give you an idea of when it was taken. Get tips on how to use items in the photograph, as well as the photograph itself, to determine the time period in which it was taken. Feel free to bring in one or two photographs for the team to help you date.

 

Beginning Genealogy
   Community Room
   6pm
Find out the fundamentals of beginning your genealogical research project. We will discuss organization, census information, vital records, and where to look for information. This is a beginner-level presentation.

 

Image result for genealogy

 

 

No comments

Refreshing Drinks Recipes

Posted by Tena on

Just in case you couldn’t make it to our Refreshing Summer Drinks Program, here are the recipes we made and sampled during the program.  Several recipes were from library books (of course!), some were actually healthy (shhh, don’t tell) and all were totally delicious!

 

Refreshing Drinks Recipes

 

 

 

 

 

No comments

Refreshing Summer Drinks Program

Posted by Tena on

Refreshing Summer Drinks —  Monday, June 18 at 6:30pm  — Want to drink more than a tall, cool drink of water this summer, but don’t know where to start?  Join us for an interactive, refreshing class on delicious, healthy summer beverages.  Recipes and free samples definitely included.  Register now so we can have enough ingredients for everyone!

 

No comments

Goodreads, the Library and You

Posted by Tena on

Over 16 million people use Goodreads every month–are you one of them?  Learn how to set up an account and use it to track the books you have already read and the books you want to read.  Also, learn how to connect with your friends and the Library!    Join us on Tuesday, June 12 at 4pm at the Belt Branch in the Createspace for an easy, informal program — bring your own device, or use the Library’s laptops.

 

No comments

Early Literacy and the Summer Reading Program

Posted by Tena on

The Summer Reading Program is here!! And that means you’re hearing about preventing the summer slide and keeping your school-age kiddos reading. But what about babies and toddlers?

OK, maybe they don’t need to prevent the summer slide. But little ones do need a foundation of literacy development to succeed at reading.  The first three years of a child’s life are seriously important because this is when early language and literacy development take place. With a young one, literacy development is about listening and speaking rather than reading and writing.

Need some ideas or reassurance that you are sufficiently nurturing your child’s literacy development? Here are a few easy suggestions and ideas:

  • Let your child handle books. Let them choose the books to read and turn the pages.
  • Make books part of your daily routine. Before bedtime or naps, while waiting in a doctor’s office or another waiting room, read with them. Don’t worry if you don’t finish the story, little ones are not the best at sitting still, so another opportunity to snuggle up with them is wonderful.
  • Incorporate music. When you notice an animal that might be found on Old MacDonald’s farm, sing it out! Also, look for picture books that are meant to be sung.
  • Incorporate rhymes and rhyming stories into everyday life. Doing so will teach sound awareness. Try matching rhymes to activities, such as reciting “Pease Porridge Hot” with breakfast or singing “Wheels on the Bus” when seeing a bus. Or you can make a rhyme/song cube and let your little one toss or kick it. Then you two can sing or chant the rhyme or song chosen.
  • Talk about the book and pictures while reading. Start with the cover. Explain the story and talk about the illustrations. Ask your child to find the red balloon, find the dog, etc.
  • Ask questions. Use the book as a conversation starter about familiar objects and activities. Relate the story to something or someone in your child’s life. Encourage them to ask questions as well.
  • Show your child the words. Start by running your finger along the words as you read them.
  • Don’t be afraid to create voices and make noises. Encourage your little one to make animal noises and other sounds. Have an awesome accent in your back pocket? Use it!

Most of all, don’t be intimidated. You can do this! And if you need help, the library is here to help. And that brings us back to … the Summer Reading Program!

Summer reading at Rolling Hills Library includes individualized goal setting (by books, minutes or pages) and prizes to encourage listening to and reading books. Have a school-age kiddo? They can read to younger siblings to work on their summer reading goals! Adults can sign up for the Summer Reading Program, too.

The Summer Reading Program includes amazing performers, Storytimes and craft programs to foster pre-reading skills and encourage the love of reading and learning. Come see us and sign up today!

Your Early Literacy and Storytime Librarian,

Miss Sarah

 

No comments

Ribbon cuttings planned for new Bookmobile

Posted by Alan on

The public is invited to see the library’s new Bookmobile in two events on Tuesday, May 22.

At 9:30 a.m., the St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce will have a ribbon cutting for the 28-foot-long vehicle in the parking lot of the library Business Office, 1912 N. Belt. Refreshments will be served inside the library’s Outreach Office.

At 4:30 p.m., the Savannah Chamber of Commerce will stage its ribbon-cutting ceremony at the Savannah Branch, 514 W. Main. Refreshments will be served in the library.

The new gasoline-powered bus was built by LDV, a manufacturer of bookmobiles and other custom specialty vehicles in Burlington, Wis. It replaces a 17-year-old, diesel bus the library purchased used from an Indiana library in 2012 so it could re-establish bookmobile service.

The bus went into service in Andrew and Buchanan counties in 2013, serving rural communities and schools. With the continued growth of Bookmobile service and persistent mechanical issues of the old bus, the library’s Board of Trustees voted in 2017 to purchase a new bus.

Rolling Hills was created in 1961 as a bookmobile service for Andrew and Buchanan counties and soon added physical libraries in Savannah and St. Joseph. The library operated a bookmobile service until 1979.

No comments

Sign up now for a summer of reading, events

Posted by Alan on

A summer of reading, music, crafts, cooking, science and fun await youths and adults in the 2018 Summer Reading Program, which runs June 4-July 28.

Sign up is underway for the annual readfest, which awards participants for how many minutes, pages or books they read. Participants – from babies to adults — set their own reading goals and choose how they keep track of their progress.

When signing up at the Belt Branch, Savannah Branch and Bookmobile, participants will receive a reading log and a colorful brochure that contains a two-month summer calendar. They turn in their logs when they are halfway to their goals to receive a prize. Once they reach their goals, they’ll be given a certificate and a free book.

Participants will be entered in the summer prize drawing at sign-up, their halfway points and when they reach their goals. Several gift baskets, prize packages and three grand prizes of $100 Walmart gift cards will be given away in the drawing on Aug. 1.

As a pre-summer event, families and youths can attend Touch-a-Truck, a parking-lot exhibit of vehicles such as fire trucks, law enforcement cars, work trucks and more, at 11 a.m.-1 p.m. at the Belt Branch and 2-3 p.m. at the Savannah Branch on Thursday, May 24. Kids and families can get up-close looks at the vehicles and sign up for the reading program, too.

This summer’s theme is “Libraries Rock!” and a variety of events are planned around the theme. The featured performers are scheduled for Mondays, with events at 11 a.m. in the Belt Branch Upper Story and 4 p.m. at the Savannah Branch. Singer Babaloo is the opening act June 4.

All summer events can be found on the library’s website, www.rhcl.org. Some require advance sign-up, which can be done online.

Creating a fun environment at the library is meant to inspire kids and adults to read. Winning prizes for their efforts is another incentive. But the real emphasis is on reading.

“Summer reading is important because any reading that a child does will help keep up their reading skills and prevent what is called the summer reading slide,” said Savannah Branch manager Saundra Keiffer. “It’s also a chance for us to present a variety of programs that we normally don’t do during the rest of the year and to engage kids who don’t always get here during the school year.”

No comments

Summertime and the Reading is Easy

Posted by Tena on

Need some suggestions for a fun summer read?  Check out some of the newer items the Library has gotten in recently, from exciting new authors and old favorites!

 

Something New

 

The Woman in the Window
by A.J. Finn
Fans of Gillian Flynn would enjoy this one

 

 

 

Hurricane Season
by Lauren Denton
For fans of Kim Vogel Sawyer and Colleen Coble

 

 

 

The Parking Lot Attendant
by Nafkote Tamirat
Fans of Harper Lee might enjoy this unique novel

 

 

 

This Could Hurt
by Jillian Medoff
For fans of “The Office” television show

 

 

 

 

New Books from Bestselling Authors

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments

Life Hacks Program-May 15

Posted by Tena on

Ever think that life could be just a teeny bit easier if you just knew all the inside tips?  Join us at the Belt Branch on Tuesday May 15 at 6:30pm as we take a light-hearted, hands-on look at some of the best tips from the book Little Book of Life Hacks by Yumi Sakugawa, and find out tricks to remember people’s names, how to keep cake fresh (yes, there will be cake!), how to organize your fridge and much more.  Register today so we know how much cake we need!

 

 

 

 

No comments
  • Hours

    Belt Branch

    M-Thu 9am-9pm
    F-Sat 9am-6pm
    Sun 1pm-5pm

    Savannah Branch

    M, W, F 9am-6pm
    T, Thu 9am-8pm
    Sat 9am-5pm
    Sun 1pm-5pm

  • Get in touch

    Phone

    Belt 816.232.5479
    Savannah 816.324.4569
    Bookmobile 816.205.7100
    Admin Offices 816.236.2106

    E-Mail

    web@rhcl.org