Rolling Hills Consolidated Library

Library Updates

Ribbon cuttings planned for new Bookmobile

Posted by Alan on

The public is invited to see the library’s new Bookmobile in two events on Tuesday, May 22.

At 9:30 a.m., the St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce will have a ribbon cutting for the 28-foot-long vehicle in the parking lot of the library Business Office, 1912 N. Belt. Refreshments will be served inside the library’s Outreach Office.

At 4:30 p.m., the Savannah Chamber of Commerce will stage its ribbon-cutting ceremony at the Savannah Branch, 514 W. Main. Refreshments will be served in the library.

The new gasoline-powered bus was built by LDV, a manufacturer of bookmobiles and other custom specialty vehicles in Burlington, Wis. It replaces a 17-year-old, diesel bus the library purchased used from an Indiana library in 2012 so it could re-establish bookmobile service.

The bus went into service in Andrew and Buchanan counties in 2013, serving rural communities and schools. With the continued growth of Bookmobile service and persistent mechanical issues of the old bus, the library’s Board of Trustees voted in 2017 to purchase a new bus.

Rolling Hills was created in 1961 as a bookmobile service for Andrew and Buchanan counties and soon added physical libraries in Savannah and St. Joseph. The library operated a bookmobile service until 1979.

No comments

Sign up now for a summer of reading, events

Posted by Alan on

A summer of reading, music, crafts, cooking, science and fun await youths and adults in the 2018 Summer Reading Program, which runs June 4-July 28.

Sign up is underway for the annual readfest, which awards participants for how many minutes, pages or books they read. Participants – from babies to adults — set their own reading goals and choose how they keep track of their progress.

When signing up at the Belt Branch, Savannah Branch and Bookmobile, participants will receive a reading log and a colorful brochure that contains a two-month summer calendar. They turn in their logs when they are halfway to their goals to receive a prize. Once they reach their goals, they’ll be given a certificate and a free book.

Participants will be entered in the summer prize drawing at sign-up, their halfway points and when they reach their goals. Several gift baskets, prize packages and three grand prizes of $100 Walmart gift cards will be given away in the drawing on Aug. 1.

As a pre-summer event, families and youths can attend Touch-a-Truck, a parking-lot exhibit of vehicles such as fire trucks, law enforcement cars, work trucks and more, at 11 a.m.-1 p.m. at the Belt Branch and 2-3 p.m. at the Savannah Branch on Thursday, May 24. Kids and families can get up-close looks at the vehicles and sign up for the reading program, too.

This summer’s theme is “Libraries Rock!” and a variety of events are planned around the theme. The featured performers are scheduled for Mondays, with events at 11 a.m. in the Belt Branch Upper Story and 4 p.m. at the Savannah Branch. Singer Babaloo is the opening act June 4.

All summer events can be found on the library’s website, www.rhcl.org. Some require advance sign-up, which can be done online.

Creating a fun environment at the library is meant to inspire kids and adults to read. Winning prizes for their efforts is another incentive. But the real emphasis is on reading.

“Summer reading is important because any reading that a child does will help keep up their reading skills and prevent what is called the summer reading slide,” said Savannah Branch manager Saundra Keiffer. “It’s also a chance for us to present a variety of programs that we normally don’t do during the rest of the year and to engage kids who don’t always get here during the school year.”

No comments

Summertime and the Reading is Easy

Posted by Tena on

Need some suggestions for a fun summer read?  Check out some of the newer items the Library has gotten in recently, from exciting new authors and old favorites!

 

Something New

 

The Woman in the Window
by A.J. Finn
Fans of Gillian Flynn would enjoy this one

 

 

 

Hurricane Season
by Lauren Denton
For fans of Kim Vogel Sawyer and Colleen Coble

 

 

 

The Parking Lot Attendant
by Nafkote Tamirat
Fans of Harper Lee might enjoy this unique novel

 

 

 

This Could Hurt
by Jillian Medoff
For fans of “The Office” television show

 

 

 

 

New Books from Bestselling Authors

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments

Life Hacks Program-May 15

Posted by Tena on

Ever think that life could be just a teeny bit easier if you just knew all the inside tips?  Join us at the Belt Branch on Tuesday May 15 at 6:30pm as we take a light-hearted, hands-on look at some of the best tips from the book Little Book of Life Hacks by Yumi Sakugawa, and find out tricks to remember people’s names, how to keep cake fresh (yes, there will be cake!), how to organize your fridge and much more.  Register today so we know how much cake we need!

 

 

 

 

No comments

Library will be open half-day on Friday, May 4

Posted by Alan on

Both branches of the library will open late on Friday, May 4, so library staff members can attend training classes in the morning.
The Belt Branch and the Savannah Branch will open at 1:30 p.m. and be open until 6 p.m. that day. They will resume normal hours on Saturday, May 5.

 

No comments

May the Fourth Star Wars Celebration

Posted by Tena on

 

 

Only 1 1/2 more weeks until May 4, 2018!!!

Why are we so excited about that date? It’s our first ever Star Wars celebration! From 3:30-5:30 p.m. in The Upper Story, visitors will be transported to another galaxy far, far away.

There will be Jedi games, crafts, snacks, prizes and much, much more! Costumes are encouraged and welcomed, but not required. May the Fourth be with you!!!!

 

No comments

Culinary Vocabulary

Posted by Tena on

Do you love food and cooking?  Do you read cookbooks just for fun?  Test your culinary knowledge with our just-for-fun Culinary Quiz!

 

Take the Culinary Quiz

 

And, as always, the magic number for foodies at the Library is 641!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments

Happy Financial Literacy Month!

Posted by Tena on

I love money. I love everything about it. I bought some pretty good stuff. Got me a $300 pair of socks. Got a fur sink. An electric dog polisher. A gasoline powered turtleneck sweater. And, of course, I bought some dumb stuff, too. –Steve Martin

 

Whether you are in the market for a fur sink or not, money is often in everyone’s thoughts.  The Library has numerous good books to help you make sense of your dollars and cents—-check out the list below:

 

The financial diet: a total beginner’s guide to getting good with money

a great primer for people who are new to personal finance concepts

 

 

 

Credit repair: make a plan, improve your credit score, avoid scams

The sensible strategies in Credit Repair help you take control of your finances, clean up your credit report and rebuild your credit.

 

 

 

You need a budget: the proven system for breaking the paycheck-to-paycheck cycle, getting out of debt, and living the life you want

“A handy guide for readers looking to increase their financial literacy and manage their money carefully and successfully.” (Booklist)

 

 

How to make your money last: the indispensable retirement guide

provides savvy suggestions to people approaching, entering, or managing retirement

 

 

 

How to retire with enough money: and how to know what enough is

“Ghilarducci uses humor, easy-to-understand calculations, and personas to showcase how readers from varying walks of life can make sustainable retirement savings choices.” —Library Journal

 

 

 

 

No comments

Financial Literacy Programs

Posted by Tena on

April is Financial Literacy Month, and the Library is offering two programs, both presented by Dave Thompson, founder and host of “It’s Your Money”, about personal finances.

 

Making Your Money Last As Long As You

Thursday April 19, 6:30pm, Upper Story, Belt Branch
Make sure you can maintain the income you need throughout your entire lifetime. Dave will give a presentation about retirement income strategies, as well as long term care coverage issues.

 

Keep More of Your Income in Retirement

Tuesday April 24, 6:30pm, Upper Story, Belt Branch
Strategies to keep more of your money in retirement, whether that’s in 10 years or 30 years. Dave will give a presentation about tax-free retirement income strategies, as well as how to choose the right financial advisor for you.

 

No comments

Unusual Crafts

Posted by Tena on

I’m sure you know that the Library carries books about all kinds of crafts–quilting, knitting, crocheting, sewing and so forth.  But I bet you didn’t know about these unusual crafts–check one out from the Library today!

 

Cat Castles: 20 Cardboard Habitats You Can Build Yourself62 Projects to Make with a Dead Computer: (And Other Discarded Electronics)

Making Magic Windows: Creating Cut-Paper Art With Carmen Lomas Garza

Image result for Doodle stitch­ing: em­broi­dery & be­yond : crewel, cross stitch, sashiko & ­more

No comments
  • Hours

    Belt Branch

    M-Thu 9am-9pm
    F-Sat 9am-6pm
    Sun 1pm-5pm

    Savannah Branch

    M, W, F 9am-6pm
    T, Thu 9am-8pm
    Sat 9am-5pm
    Sun 1pm-5pm

  • Get in touch

    Phone

    Belt 816.232.5479
    Savannah 816.324.4569
    Bookmobile 816.205.7100
    Admin Offices 816.236.2106

    E-Mail

    web@rhcl.org