Rolling Hills Consolidated Library

Library Updates

Ribbon cuttings planned for new Bookmobile

Posted by Alan on

The public is invited to see the library’s new Bookmobile in two events on Tuesday, May 22.

At 9:30 a.m., the St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce will have a ribbon cutting for the 28-foot-long vehicle in the parking lot of the library Business Office, 1912 N. Belt. Refreshments will be served inside the library’s Outreach Office.

At 4:30 p.m., the Savannah Chamber of Commerce will stage its ribbon-cutting ceremony at the Savannah Branch, 514 W. Main. Refreshments will be served in the library.

The new gasoline-powered bus was built by LDV, a manufacturer of bookmobiles and other custom specialty vehicles in Burlington, Wis. It replaces a 17-year-old, diesel bus the library purchased used from an Indiana library in 2012 so it could re-establish bookmobile service.

The bus went into service in Andrew and Buchanan counties in 2013, serving rural communities and schools. With the continued growth of Bookmobile service and persistent mechanical issues of the old bus, the library’s Board of Trustees voted in 2017 to purchase a new bus.

Rolling Hills was created in 1961 as a bookmobile service for Andrew and Buchanan counties and soon added physical libraries in Savannah and St. Joseph. The library operated a bookmobile service until 1979.

No comments

Sign up now for a summer of reading, events

Posted by Alan on

A summer of reading, music, crafts, cooking, science and fun await youths and adults in the 2018 Summer Reading Program, which runs June 4-July 28.

Sign up is underway for the annual readfest, which awards participants for how many minutes, pages or books they read. Participants – from babies to adults — set their own reading goals and choose how they keep track of their progress.

When signing up at the Belt Branch, Savannah Branch and Bookmobile, participants will receive a reading log and a colorful brochure that contains a two-month summer calendar. They turn in their logs when they are halfway to their goals to receive a prize. Once they reach their goals, they’ll be given a certificate and a free book.

Participants will be entered in the summer prize drawing at sign-up, their halfway points and when they reach their goals. Several gift baskets, prize packages and three grand prizes of $100 Walmart gift cards will be given away in the drawing on Aug. 1.

As a pre-summer event, families and youths can attend Touch-a-Truck, a parking-lot exhibit of vehicles such as fire trucks, law enforcement cars, work trucks and more, at 11 a.m.-1 p.m. at the Belt Branch and 2-3 p.m. at the Savannah Branch on Thursday, May 24. Kids and families can get up-close looks at the vehicles and sign up for the reading program, too.

This summer’s theme is “Libraries Rock!” and a variety of events are planned around the theme. The featured performers are scheduled for Mondays, with events at 11 a.m. in the Belt Branch Upper Story and 4 p.m. at the Savannah Branch. Singer Babaloo is the opening act June 4.

All summer events can be found on the library’s website, www.rhcl.org. Some require advance sign-up, which can be done online.

Creating a fun environment at the library is meant to inspire kids and adults to read. Winning prizes for their efforts is another incentive. But the real emphasis is on reading.

“Summer reading is important because any reading that a child does will help keep up their reading skills and prevent what is called the summer reading slide,” said Savannah Branch manager Saundra Keiffer. “It’s also a chance for us to present a variety of programs that we normally don’t do during the rest of the year and to engage kids who don’t always get here during the school year.”

No comments

Summertime and the Reading is Easy

Posted by Tena on

Need some suggestions for a fun summer read?  Check out some of the newer items the Library has gotten in recently, from exciting new authors and old favorites!

 

Something New

 

The Woman in the Window
by A.J. Finn
Fans of Gillian Flynn would enjoy this one

 

 

 

Hurricane Season
by Lauren Denton
For fans of Kim Vogel Sawyer and Colleen Coble

 

 

 

The Parking Lot Attendant
by Nafkote Tamirat
Fans of Harper Lee might enjoy this unique novel

 

 

 

This Could Hurt
by Jillian Medoff
For fans of “The Office” television show

 

 

 

 

New Books from Bestselling Authors

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments

Life Hacks Program-May 15

Posted by Tena on

Ever think that life could be just a teeny bit easier if you just knew all the inside tips?  Join us at the Belt Branch on Tuesday May 15 at 6:30pm as we take a light-hearted, hands-on look at some of the best tips from the book Little Book of Life Hacks by Yumi Sakugawa, and find out tricks to remember people’s names, how to keep cake fresh (yes, there will be cake!), how to organize your fridge and much more.  Register today so we know how much cake we need!

 

 

 

 

No comments
  • Hours

    Belt Branch

    M-Thu 9am-9pm
    F-Sat 9am-6pm
    Sun 1pm-5pm

    Savannah Branch

    M, W, F 9am-6pm
    T, Thu 9am-8pm
    Sat 9am-5pm
    Sun 1pm-5pm

  • Get in touch

    Phone

    Belt 816.232.5479
    Savannah 816.324.4569
    Bookmobile 816.205.7100
    Admin Offices 816.236.2106

    E-Mail

    web@rhcl.org